Staff Picks

Check out these staff recommended books.

Pachinko

Min Jin Lee
2017
ISBN: 9781455563937

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"-- Provided by publisher.



ISBN: 9780062844132

Jeeves and the king of clubs : a novel in homage to P.G. Wodehouse

Ben Schott
2018
ISBN: 9780316524605

As a member of the Junior Ganymede Club--an association of butlers and valets that is in reality an arm of the British intelligence service--Jeeves must ferret out a Fascist spy, with the help of his hapless employer, Bertie Wooster.

Make it last

project editor, Mary Flanagan
2018
ISBN: 9781621454199

The best way to cut home expenses--and frustrations--is to prevent problems from happening in the first place. With The Family Handyman Make It Last, see how easy it is to avoid appliance breakdowns, keep your furnace humming and avoid expensive water damage. Extend the lifespan of your water heater, lawn mower, garage door opener and more. We'll also show you instant fixes to try before you call a repair service. Plus, you'll learn how to make cabinets, decks, plumbing fixtures, furniture or trim look like new again. This book pays for itself the first time you do one of the hundreds of repairs, maintenance and troubleshooting projects, explained in easy-to-understand steps, from our expert editors. And, with Make It Last, taking care of your home has never been easier. Save time and money by handling doing these projects yourself instead of calling in a service pro every time you have a drip or a clog. It's environmentally responsible to keep your home well maintained and not just because you home will be more energy efficient if your HVAC system is running smoothly. Maintaining and repairing home components like windows, doors, floors and appliances means less stuff ends up in landfills. When you make your home last, you're conserving resources and that's always a good thing.

The grave's a fine and private place

Alan Bradley
2018
ISBN: 9780345539991

In the wake of an unthinkable family tragedy, twelve-year-old Flavia de Luce is struggling to fill her empty days. For a needed escape, Dogger, the loyal family servant, suggests a boating trip for Flavia and her two older sisters. As their punt drifts past the church where a notorious vicar had recently dispatched three of his female parishioners by spiking their communion wine with cyanide, Flavia, an expert chemist with a passion for poisons, is ecstatic. Suddenly something grazes against her fingers as she dangles them in the water. She clamps down on the object, imagining herself as Ernest Hemingway battling a marlin, and pulls up what she expects will be a giant fish. But in Flavia's grip is something far better: a human head, attached to a human body. If anything could take Flavia's mind off sorrow, it is solving a murder -- although one that may lead the young sleuth to an early grave.

What happened in Craig : Alaska's worst unsolved mass murder

Leland E. Hale
2018
ISBN: 9781941890226

"On a foggy afternoon in September of 1982 the Investor, a salmon fishing vessel, was engulfed in flames near the tiny village of Craig, Alaska. All efforts to stop the blaze were repulsed by the heat and fury of fire--until the blaze had run its course. Eight people, including a pregnant woman and two small children, were missing. On the charred wreck of the Investor, troopers hoped to find evidence that the fire was accidental, and that the crew and family were away from the scene. Instead, they found bullet-ridden bodies. The investigation of the case and arrest of a former crewmember of the Investor became a nationwide sensation, with headlines appearing in the New York Times and People Magazine. John Kenneth Peel, a Bellingham fisherman was the center of the investigation and eventual trials for murder and arson. Convoluted motivations, family secrets, a lawyer bent on protecting his client, family members of the victims seeking answers swirl into a story only one person can know--and he isn't telling." -- Amazon.com.

The modern organic home : 100+ DIY cleaning products, organization tips, and household hacks

Natalie Wise
2018
ISBN: 9781680993097

"The Modern Organic Home will help you de-clutter and clean with natural, homemade products that are healthy for you and your family. Start with the basics and work your way into every corner of your homeā€”from tile grout to shower mold and how to clean lampshades to how to clean yoga mats. There are recipes for cleaning nearly every surface in your home from the carpets to stuffed animals."--Page [4] of cover.

Age of war [spoken word]

Michael J. Sullivan
2018
ISBN: 9781490641102

The alliance of humans and renegade Fhrey is fragile--and about to be tested as never before. Persephone keeps the human clans from turning on one another through her iron will and a compassionate heart. The arrogant Fhrey are barely held in check by their leader, Nyphron, who seeks to advance his own nefarious agenda through a loveless marriage that will result in the betrayal of the person Persephone loves most: Raithe, the God Killer. As the Fhrey overlords marshal their army and sorcerers to crush the rebellion, old loyalties will be challenged while fresh conspiracies will threaten to undo all that Persephone hasaccomplished. In the darkest hour, when hope is all but lost, new heroes will rise ... but at what terrible cost?